Thankful Thursday: Jan 10th Edition

Look mom, a month late!

So, I sat down to write this post SEVERAL times over the last month and each time, I found myself in a less than grateful mood. I have no idea why, but I just could not think of what to write. I’ve come up with stuff since then, but every time I came back to this “saved draft”, the page sat blank, void of any words, mocking my brain for it’s lack of gratitude.

Well, I’ve decided that I am grateful for my family. Not the one I was born into, not the one I married into, but the one I created. My husband and I, and our beautiful children (and they are truly beautiful people inside and out). So… I think instead of telling you about our family and what makes us special or unique or “The GREATEST FAMILY EVER!” (cuz that’s not even true, sometimes we totally suck!)… I think instead of that, I’ll leave you with a few simple photos. An evolution of our family, as it is. I don’t know why, but I don’t think I considered us a “family” until my son was born and there are hardly any photos of just the three of us before he entered our lives. So most of these shots are over the last two years. The military does a lot of things to and for families, but one of the biggest things is that it has given us the chance to take more family photos than before. So, I give you:

Evolution of the Family “Noba”

This was the day my husband swore in, taking his Oath of Enlistment and leaving us for Basic Training that night. Up until then, we had never been apart for more than a few days. Sissy was about 4.5 and Little Brother turned one a month later.

This was the day my husband swore in, taking his Oath of Enlistment and leaving us for Basic Training that night. Up until then, we had never been apart for more than a few days. Sissy was about 4.5 and Little Brother turned one a month later.

This was my husband's Basic Training graduation. So much had changed. By this point, Sissy had a tentative diagnosis of autism, Little Brother had clearly put on some weight and we'd all had a hair cut. We got to spend less than a day with my husband during that trip and it wasn't fair and it was chaos and stress, but another soldiers mother took this photo for us, the only one we have from either his BCT grad or OCS grad :)

This was my husband’s Basic Training graduation. So much had changed. By this point, Sissy had a tentative diagnosis of autism, Little Brother had clearly put on some weight and we’d all had a hair cut. We got to spend less than a day with my husband during that trip and it wasn’t fair and it was chaos and stress, but another soldiers mother took this photo for us, the only one we have from either his BCT grad or OCS grad 🙂

Just ahead some time, Easter 2012. My aunt is a photographer and we spent Easter with her and my young cousin (not much older than Sissy). Sis is in first grade and Little Brother was about to turn three the following summer. This was a quick trip, not more than a few days, but it was a good one and an important one.

Just ahead some time, Easter 2012. My aunt is a photographer and we spent Easter with her and my young cousin (not much older than Sissy). Sis is in first grade and Little Brother was about to turn three the following summer. This was a quick trip, not more than a few days, but it was a good one and an important one. Photo Copyright 2012, Lynne Hough Photography

 

 

Block Leave 2012: taken at a rest stop near the Colorado River. Yes, we drove from TN to CA and back again, taking two different routes so that we would see more of the country. The kids had a blast.

Block Leave 2012: taken at a rest stop near the Colorado River. Yes, we drove from TN to CA and back again, taking two different routes so that we would see more of the country. The kids had a blast.

My own personal "D-Day". Despite the smiling faces, this was the day my husband deployed. This was the last time I saw him, the last time I touched him, the first time we said "See ya soon"... My big girl in second grade at six years old, I couldn't be more proud. Little Brother being ornery as ever, was barely three.

My own personal “D-Day”. Despite the smiling faces, this was the day my husband deployed. This was the last time I saw him, the last time I touched him, the first time we said “See ya soon”… My big girl in second grade at six years old, I couldn’t be more proud. Little Brother being ornery as ever, was barely three.

What are your thoughts?

