Thankful Thursday: Jan 17, 2013

Letter to a Deployed Husband, Part Two:

 

My Dearest Soldier,

135.

That’s the number of days since the last time you held me in your arms.

That’s the number of days until the next time you will hold me again.

That’s the number of days since the last time I held you close and kissed you fiercely.

That’s the number of days until I will kiss you once again.

135.

The number of days since the kids said “See you soon”.

The number of days until the kids say “Hello”.

The number of days since I drove home in the dark through tears.

The number of days until I drive home with you by my side, through more tears.

135.

The number of days since I made a bad joke and we both laughed hard.

The number of days until the laughter returns.

The number of days since the last time I looked into your eyes and told you “I love you”.

The number of days until I can whisper those sweet words to you again.

135.

It is so hard to believe that we have made it this far without you. It’s still difficult day to day. It doesn’t get easier to go on without you, just easier to find acceptable distractions. We are halfway there, my love. You are halfway home.

My darling husband, my best friend, you are very loved and very missed.

Just keep breathing and we’ll see you soon, my love.

Forever Yours, Forever Waiting.

 

Today, I am thankful for the days. The days that have passed. The days still to come. I have learned a lot about myself so far. I have learned a lot about my husband. There is much strength, much love and much patience that has passed. There is much more strength, much more love, and much more patience to be had. We are halfway there. 135 days since I last saw, touched, smelled my husband. 135 until I can do so again.

My husband is halfway home.

6 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: Jan 17, 2013

  1. This makes me both happy and sad, I’m so glad you and the kids and your hubby,are halfway through,But i’m so sad that you still have to wait 135 more days. you have been so strong,You have come a long way. and I am counting down the days with you. I will be so happy for all of you when you get to go pick up your solider/hubby and of course,your two little angels daddy. Im here for you whenever you need to talk 🙂 you inspire me. 🙂 love ya.

    • Thanks dear. The 135 is taken from the standard deployment timeline of 270 days. It could be a few more days or it could be a few less. We expect him home some time between his birthday in the middle of May to Father’s Day in the middle of June. He could come home before then, but it’s not too likely. It’s easier on the kids to have a set number of days to count down even if I have to fiddle with the calendar in the event that he’s there longer than anticipated.

  2. xo Dee says:

    This brought a tear to me eye. Beautifully written.

  3. At Margareta's Haus says:

    My father was military and when he was away we missed him terribly. I thank you for the sacrifice your husband and your family make for the freedom and safety of our Country. I thank you for the lovely post – straight from the heart and with so much love. Prayers that the remaining 135 days will go swiftly!

    • Thank you dear. I seem to have hit a mid-deployment depression, which I’m told is common near the middle of the deployment. I’m hanging in there and the kids seem to be holding on. Kind words are always appreciated. It seems that too often the families left behind are forgotten. Our sacrifices are not lessened because we don’t wear the uniform. Though honestly, I can’t say who has it harder, the one left behind or the one who has to leave. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

