May the Force be with you

A few weeks ago, I read a blog that made a brief mention about the 501st Legion. I watched some video clips and was moved by what they do. I thought nothing of it after that. Somewhere in the back of my mind, I was still thinking about them though. When a flyer was being passed around EFMP (Exceptional Family Members Program) regarding a “Join the Force” event that including meeting characters and popcorn (who doesn’t love popcorn), I had to sign us up. Knowing how my husband and I met, and that we included music from the Original Trilogy at both our wedding reception AND our ceremony, I couldn’t NOT go. Speaking with the event organizer, yesterday, they had only expected 1 or two characters. I had only expected a few myself, so we were ALL greatly surprised to see no less than 14 characters! You heard that (or read it) FOURTEEN CHARACTERS!!!!

At least 14, Darth Vadar had to “leave” early… Kept mumbling something about a third Death Star and how it really would work this time.

 

My kids and I had a blast getting to meet Darth Vadar, Storm Troopers, Pilots, Jawas, Bossk, and CHEWBACCA! Knowing my husband and I metwhile he was a Wookie, Chewbacca has always been a person favorite of mine.

That is so totally me with Chewy! He’s a bit tall, isn’t he?

It was amazing. Sissy found a friend immediately, so we sat with her and her family while eating popcorn, watching Episode IV and hanging out with our favorite characters all afternoon.  The Jawa were particularly adorable. One character was played by a boy who had just turned six and was learning to write his name. We gave him hi-fives when he signed his autograph for us. And yes, I got autographs from everyone. What kind of wife would I be if I hadn’t? Daddy couldn’t go with us, but he can still see our spoils and rewards.

Every character signed and accounted for… I was so excited about this. It’s technically my first autograph!

 

 

Altogether, we had an awesome time, but I think the pictures speak for themselves. (And we have dozens of them.) Thank you to the 501st, MidSouth Garrison for coming out and showing our kids are great time!

 

The kids with Darth Vadar

Meeting Jawa (Is Jawa singular or plural? Seems like it would be both.)

Meeting Luke Skywalker

The Force is strong with them.

 

 

Little Brother was jumping around; he was SO excited to get to see Chewbacca!

 

One thought on “May the Force be with you

  1. I was especially delighted to read about your family’s wonderful experience at the “Join the Force” event! 🙂

    I am not affiliated with the 501st Legion, but have been a first-hand witness to the generosity of their membership on several occasions. Good people!

What are your thoughts?

