30 Day Drawing Challenge: Day 9

Day 9: Favorite TV Show

Honestly, I don’t really have one of these either. I know, SHOCKING! But I have come across several shows recently that I find relatively entertaining. Mostly it’s crime dramas/comedy, such as The Mentalist, Criminal Minds, CSI’s (not Miami), Rizzoli and Isles, BUT the one that struck me most was The Big Bang Theory.

It’s a quirky little show, and honestly, I don’t always find it amusing. My husband says it’s because I remind him of Sheldon (not in those words, but he has taken to saying the phrase “Ok, Sheldon” a lot more lately).

Trying to explain why my favorite show happens to be a comedy that I don’t find funny is going to be difficult. I think part of the problem is that Sheldon is the comic relief. His behaviors, mannerisms, and obsessions are exaggerated to the annoyance of his friends and to the amusement of the audience. Here’s the thing, most of the things Sheldon does make sense to me. I don’t particularly think it’s funny because I see myself doing those same things or something similar for the same reason.

Another thing is the jokes. They are meant to make fun of intelligence and ignorance at the same time. Penny doesn’t understand the guys with their PhD’s (except Howard), and the don’t understand her with her social etiquette. This is all played up for comedy. Again, I don’t find it funny. Mostly because I’m with the guys. I understand the math jokes, I am a mathematics major, after all. I don’t understand social etiquette and it often gets me in trouble. I know those feelings and they aren’t funny.

However, I have found the time I spend watching the show with my husband to be quite enjoyable. He laughs so hard, that it’s hard for me not to laugh (even if I don’t find the joke itself funny). The last few weeks of laughing with my husband have been wonderful. A bright spot in the middle of a stressful time. For this reason, the Big Bang Theory (despite my being a creationist) is my favorite TV Show.

(Plus the theme song is kind catchy, even for a creationist.)

Sheldon: A neutron walks into a bar and asks how much for a drink. The bartender replies “for you, no charge”.

What are your thoughts?

