30 Day Drawing Challenge: Day 8

Day 8: Favorite Animated Character

 

I could have drawn any number of characters today. From Winnie the Pooh and Tigger, to just about any Disney cartoon character, I can draw it. I have a unique ability to look at an image and draw it. I can’t follow tutorials. The “How to draw XYZ” just doesn’t work for me. I can’t see the steps it takes to draw a character. I just see the finished product.

I’ve always drawn the entire image at once. I start from a random point, most likely the easiest section to draw, and work from there. I erase… A lot! I always try to give my images a polished look.

Today’s character is Dopey. You know, the only hairless dwarf in Disney’s butchery of a telling of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs? That Dopey. He reminds me a lot of myself. He’s a bit of comic relief, a bit sensitivity and if he ever opened his mouth, I’m sure he’d get a silver medal in the “foot in mouth” competition. He’s lovable, friendly, and dependable.

He also looks a bit like an Olsen girl, though I can’t tell which.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge: Day 8

  1. Don says:

    Very nice! I’m not seeing the Olsen twin resemblance though…

    I draw the same way, although recently I’ve made a deliberate effort to start looking at the way things are “constructed”, it’s still pretty often that I just start with a random line (usually one of the bigger parts) and draw it out from there.

What are your thoughts?

