30 Day Drawing Challenge

The concept is simple: Draw something different for 30 days.

I have really started to get going in my book and thought I’d start posting them here. Each day is unique. A new way to push the creative envelope. I hope you enjoy my art as much as I do. Some days came to me easily, others I struggled with. Picking “Favorites” isn’t something I’ve ever really done. It’s not something I tend to think about, so naturally, those days are harder for me to find inspiration. I got this idea from another blog, Life is a journey, not a destination. I look forward to seeing the art we come up with over the next 30 days.

This is only part one, but we have to start somewhere.

DAY ONE: Yourself

I don’t usually draw people, and I especially don’t ever draw myself. It’s odd, but I really do like the way this came out. Something about it is childish. It’s unprofessional and resembles a cartoon. But I like it. I never say that about an image of myself. I believe I am the least photogenic person on the planet and literally loath any photo taken of myself. I can find fault in all of them, but I really did enjoy drawing this and I’m proud of the way it came out.

Day 1: Me

13 thoughts on “30 Day Drawing Challenge

  1. I too feel the same. I have never seen a photo of myself that doesn’t make me cringe. Maybe I will try this. (-:

  2. awesome!!!! I dont like photos of myself either and drawing me… OMG so hard hahah I always did no more than some drafts in a cartoon style… I will try realistic or at least a bit more detailed now…

    • Just be you. Once I told myself, “It’s a sketch, nobody is really gonna think you look like that” I was able to have more fun with it. Day 2 was the worst, but I’ve found a style that works for me and a lot of my future drawings are done in pen instead of pencil.

      • hahah thank you! I have been checking your blog, and now I am short of time cause I came back to work so I am delayed in my Drawing Challenge… I will try to start the following days and use the traditional way too, I purchased a box of Prismacolor a year ago and never used them… I will try to do it now hahah šŸ™‚

      • I’ve never heard of Prismacolor. I mostly use Sharpie pens. I prefer the fine/ultra fine point, and the “pen” variety doesn’t bleed through. I’m a stay at home mom, I mostly draw when Little Brother is napping and Sissy is at school.

      • I always heard in this part of the world that prismacolor are the best brand for coloring in traditional media… so I bought a box when I went to the usa heheh http://www.gutenberg.org/files/19068/19068-h/19068-h.htm look at the drawings! ^^ I loved them, I like that old style! today is holiday in my country so I am not working but need to do some things, I hope to begin my challenge tomorrow! hahah your children must be so cute!

      • They certainly try to be cute. My girl is 6, Little Brother is 3. They know how to keep me on my toes, that’s for sure. Thankfully, I’m young enough to have the energy for them.

      • hahah that is soo good! My mom too gave me birth when she was kinda young šŸ™‚ Enjoy them now that they are still children cause when they grow up… will go blogging everywhere hahah

      • I finally got the chance to review that link. WOW! I think I’d be too intimidated to attempt something of that magnitude. At least right now. I’m easily intimidated by art lol

      • hahah really? I adore those drawings! I am fascinated for that style and all the styles that come from those times… I would have said from 17th and 19th century but I also love the first Dsiney drawings and some others from the 20s and 30s… heheh I like ink over paper style lol I am intimidated too… I never developed my drawing so far than body structure and that was like ages ago… šŸ˜¦ when I log in deviantart I get excited and intimidated cause of the amazing illustrations that I find there… “someday I could do a better job” heheh

      • I havent been to deviantart in years. Too intimidated. Lol I tend to do my own thing to much, have a lot of my own flair. I love the Grimm illustrations, I just don’t have the confidence to attempt reproduction yet.

      • I had an account and uploaded some of my drawings there once upon a time when I had enough time for myself… I will look forward when you do! *v*

What are your thoughts?

